No questions are dumb questions?

People always say “no questions are dumb questions.” But, I think everyone should ask him/herself in their head about the question they are about to voice BEFORE actually saying it.  When I was in college, I met a few students who love to ask dumb questions right before class was over. Some questions are better to ask privately because they may not be relevant or helpful for others.  Also, do your research before asking questions. You can often find an answer without asking someone about it. When I train new employees, I hate answering the same questions over and over and over… Take some notes and stop asking the same questions more than three times. If you have to ask the same questions repeatedly, most likely, you are not paying attention and you are not learning. On the other hand, I love it when someone asks GOOD questions. I can tell when someone did his/her own research prior to asking questions. When that happens, it simply excites me and the person earns certain respect from me.  Questions are good, but just don’t keep asking questions.  Do some research, understand and digest!

Leave a Reply

